Newly elected Appomattox Mayor Richard Conner

Newly elected Appomattox Mayor Richard Conner is sworn into office by the Honorable Janet Hix on Tuesday.

At the Town of Appomattox council meeting Tuesday, the newly elected and re-elected town council members and mayor were sworn into office.

It was the last meeting of the fiscal 2019-2020. The honorable Janet Hix, Appomattox County Circuit Court Clerk, was present to administer the oath of office.

Friends and family gathered for the occasion.

Hix thanked Paul Harvey for years of service in the role of mayor of Appomattox and congratulated new mayor Richard Conner, those who were re-elected (Mary Lou Spiggle, Claudia Puckette, Timothy Garrett and Jonathan Garrett) and newly elected council members (Harvey and Nathan Simpson). Simpson was not present at the meeting. 

Councilman Timothy Garrett presented a plaque to Paul Harvey on behalf of the Town of Appomattox in appreciation for his time of service as mayor from 2008 to 2020. 

James Boyce and Steven Conner (the latter who was not present) also were presented with plaques in honor of their service as council members.

At the end of the meeting, Harvey thanked Gary Shanaberger and various managers who have served during his time as mayor. He also expressed his thanks to town staff and various departments.

If you want more content like this, pick up the Times Virginian newspaper or subscribe at to view the e-edition version.