People across the Commonwealth came out of their homes Tuesday to cast their votes in town and city elections, and both the Town of Appomattox and Town of Pamplin City will have new mayors.

Richard C. Conner, who was unopposed, was elected mayor of Appomattox.

For Pamplin City, Sarah Hamlett Blackwell, who also was unopposed, was elected mayor.

The six Town of Appomattox council seats will be filled by the following candidates: Timothy W. Garrett, Nathan A. Simpson, Jonathan D. Garrett, Mary Lou Spiggle, Paul D. Harvey and Claudia G. Puckette.

For the proposed charter change to elect the mayor and council members at the November general election date in odd-numbered years, the positive response was overwhelming.

Most voters also were in favor of increasing the length of terms for council members to four years, to stagger future elections of council members so that three members are elected every two years.

For Pamplin City, four of the six town council seats will be filled by all four names on the ballot: Ronald E. Franklin, Ruth U. Williamson, P. Marvin Hamlett and Linda N. Shores.

Regarding the two vacant seats, information is still pending based on write-in results.

Read more information and vote totals in Wednesday's Times Virginian newspaper. Pick up a copy or subscribe at to view the full article in the e-edition version.