The first Appomattox County Board of Supervisors’ meeting of 2020 took place Jan. 2 with two new supervisors, John Hinkle of the Falling River District and Trevor Hipps of the Wreck Island District, taking their seats for the first time.

Among matters of discussion was the selection of chairman and vice-chairman of the board and changing limits on citizens who wish to make their voice heard.

Samuel Carter of the Courthouse District was re-elected as chairman of the Appomattox County Board of Supervisors, and Bill Hogan of the Appomattox River District was elected vice-chairman.

There’s more to this story in the current issue of the Times Virginian newspaper. Pick up a copy or subscribe at to view the full article in the e-edition version.